BALBOA PARK
BALBOA PARK
BALBOA PARK #27 - From Art Exhibitions to Ethical T-Shirts: Catch Up with 27 club
0:00
-16:52

BALBOA PARK #27 - From Art Exhibitions to Ethical T-Shirts: Catch Up with 27 club

Insights on balancing creativity, new art projects, and my ethical t-shirt collection reveal.

Welcome to Episode 27 of Balboa Park!

here for you another episode of the podcast!

if you don’t like to listen to the podcast here for you all the content I talk about translated into a newsletter. And if you do like to listen to it, well scroll through the newsletter to see the images AND to have a surprise ;)

Content Recap:

  • Introduction

  • Updates on my recent activities and exhibitions

  • My thoughts on maintaining creative momentum

  • Reflections on dealing with artistic pressures

  • Balancing various creative endeavors

  • An announcement!


Balboa Park Newsletter

Hi, hello, welcome, welcome. I’m Nicoz Balboa, and this is Balboa Park. For those new to my podcast, I’m a trans man from Italy who’s been living in France for over 20 years. I’m a MOM to a teenage daughter and a passionate tattoo artist and graphic novelist.

Life Updates and Recent Projects

It’s been a while since the last episode, and I was worried that the podcast might end abruptly, much like the legends of the 27 Club. Thankfully, I’m back, and there’s so much to share.

The past month and a half has been incredibly busy1. I’ve been preparing for an exhibition featuring my new Perimeter series paintings. You might have seen some of these in my newsletter or on Instagram. The show took place in La Rochelle alongside two talented artists, Henri Capron and Virginie Rouvière, as part of a collective exhibition themed "Be Water." It was fascinating to see how each of us brought our unique interpretations of water to the show, from underwater self-portraits to scenes of nature and beach life.

The Struggles of Creativity Under Pressure

Despite the joy and fulfillment that these projects bring, maintaining a consistent creative output can be challenging. I’ve realized that the pressure to produce can often stifle creativity. The key to overcoming this is finding joy in the process rather than succumbing to guilt or shame about productivity.

Balancing Multiple Creative Outlets

In addition to my painting and exhibitions, I’ve been busy with the second season of the Strangeland podcast2, which required extensive editing, interviewing, and promotion. Coupled with my tattoo work and an upcoming guest spot in Rome, it felt overwhelming at times. However, I’ve learned that it’s important (YET NOT EASY) to slow down and reconnect with the simple pleasures, like reading and stepping back from the constant connectivity of social media.

Exploring New Ventures

I’m excited to announce a new project that combines my love for art and t-shirts. After a great conversation with fellow artist Reesabobeesa on Instagram, I decided to try Printful, a platform that allows for ethical and on-demand printing. You can now find my first two t-shirt designs on my website, NicozBalboaStudio.com/store One features two Mermtrans kissing, and the other is a self-portrait with the messages "All bodies are cool" on the front and "You are cool" on the back. These designs are meant to spread positivity and self-acceptance.

and since you read up ‘till here, I have a discount for you to use in my shop: copy/paste this word THANKYOUFORREADING at the checkout to have a discount. discount expires in one week (July 28)

Final Thoughts

Thank you for sticking with me through this journey. If you enjoyed this episode, please consider leaving an honest review or sharing it with a friend. And, please, check out my new t-shirts and let me know what you think. Your support AND feedback means the world to me.

Leave a comment

Stay creative, find joy in the process, and I’ll talk to you soon!

Best, Nicoz Balboa

[Visit NicozBalboaStudio.com for the latest updates!]

1

busy for me work life AND busy and stressful for all the frenchies since here there was elections and we were fighting for dear life against extreme right

2

I’ve been quietly working on the STRANGELAND X NICOZ BALBOA podcast in French. Together with Justine aka Trognette, we’ve interviewed a lot of amazing queer, spiritual, artistic, and activist individuals around the Strangeland five pillars. It’s been an incredibly rewarding experience, diving deep into various topics that matter to us. You can find our episodes on all major platforms and Strangeland’s YouTube. If you’re up for it, give it a listen and let me know what you think!

Share BALBOA PARK


  • keywords: "creative process," "self-knowledge," "artistic productivity," "exhibition," "tattoo artist," "graphic novelist," "Printful t-shirts," "ethical fashion," and "artist podcast."

0 Comments
BALBOA PARK
BALBOA PARK
when we observe our creative process ART becomes our chance for growth & a spiritual practice... & a podcast theme :)